Home > Classroom, Thinking > 8Way Thinking

8Way Thinking

December 28, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today I’ve finally got round to reading the second half of Ian Gilbert’s Why do I need a teacher when I’ve got Google? I’m amazed that I didn’t read it all in one sitting as I’ve found it inspirational and easy reading.  When I finish the book I will write a post on the main things I’ve taken away from this first read, but for now I want to document just one thing – one of the things I anticipate using with my Y3s almost immediately.

8Way Thinking (Gilbert pp. 161-2) draws on Gardner’s multiple intelligences and simplifies them as a structure to generate questions.

  • Numbers
  • Sounds
  • Sites
  • Actions
  • People
  • Feelings
  • Nature
  • Words

Each one is a spoke of a wheel and each one generates a question that could be written along the spoke).  The generating of questions could be the end in itself or the questions could be the starting point of far more focused research than many children could structure naturally.

Read more on the Independent Thinking site.

I look forward to trying out this idea in a variety of contexts with my class – and no doubt they will find even more interesting ways of using it than I can think of!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

