Home > Classroom, Learning > The need for change

The need for change

December 28, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

The battle between routine and novelty

Welcome to my WordPress blog.

Five months on the previous blog.  That’s about right for me.  I have an overwhelming need for novelty; to find something better; or just to find something different.  I appreciate that change for change’s sake is not to everyone’s taste but for me, change is necessary just to prevent stagnation.

And I wonder how many learners in a classroom are in a similar position.  In my last post I was thinking about how I’ve not been taking the risks I want to because of the children who it appears find less formalised, structured tasks more difficult to cope with.  And these are children with needs that so often we’re being told are best addressed by little change.

But what about the children who, like me, thrive on change?  And I’m sure I’ve read brain-related thoughts that say that novelty is a key to learning.  So shouldn’t that be as important as maintaining a predictable classroom for the few?

  1. December 28, 2010 at 1:17 pm

    Welcome to wordpress 🙂 You made the right call!

    • December 28, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      Thanks, John. Am hoping it’ll improve my quality of writing too!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

