Home > Education > What’s The Point of School

What’s The Point of School

Following a tweet by @mrwejr, I watched Professor Guy Claxton discussing  What’s the point of school? on the dystalk site.  The opening is below and the complete video can be found on the site.

I have already read, What’s the point of school? and also attended a Building Learning Power training session at a link secondary school in the past.

I find what he has to say compelling, but what amazes me most is the fact that the ideas he promotes are not more widely adopted in schools.  In the same way that AfL strategies are just plain sensible, everything he says makes perfect sense.  I believe in it passionately and yet I’ve only managed to let influence my practice minimally.

Is the problem that rebuilding schools from a pedagogical view is far more difficult than rebuilding them structurally?

Categories: Education
  1. June 6, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    Great question! It is difficult but I like what @tomschimmer says about AFL (as well as what Claxton says about thinking learning rather than work) is that we need to infuse pieces of it into our practice. I have tried to encourage ed reform but I think I have pushed too far and alienated a few (around edtech, afl, etc). I am looking to find the balance between support and challenge in a way that helps to create change more effectively than in the past. Thanks for the post!

    • June 6, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      Thanks Chris. Certainly I believe that making small changes then living by them can be a more effective way to affect change more widely. It’s a long journey but worthwhile to take any opportunities to progress a step or two.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

