Home > 2012Wish > Wish #4 – to teach abroad

Wish #4 – to teach abroad

Every so often over the past few years I’ve considered teaching abroad. When I was younger I didn’t feel I had the confidence to leave my support network, but I’ve come to realise that if I’m put into a situation then I’ll rise to the challenge.

Conversations with teachers in many countries have strengthened my wish to experience other education systems. As has research, documentaries (thank you Teachers TV) and – although clearly idealised – films and dramas.

Particularly strange is the realisation that I’d be interested in working in the US, somewhere that my younger self would never have wanted to visit let alone live.

I’ll stick with the current job for the time being though…

Categories: 2012Wish
  1. January 4, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    Before I went to college, the plan was that I’d qualify then join my brother in New Zealand but I didn’t get there. I think travel is wonderful but not sure I’d want to stay long enough to need a job!

    • Lara Savory
      January 5, 2012 at 7:00 am

      I like the idea of travel but don’t do enough of it – hoping to address that in future wishes!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

