Home > 2012Wish > Wish #9 – to learn to code

Wish #9 – to learn to code

January 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

When I was 10 I was given my first computer – a Commodore VIC 20 (20 meaning it had 20k of memory…!) that plugged into the TV. As well as enjoying playing a few games on it (loaded up from its tape cassette drive of course, although a couple were cartridges that plugged in the back) I learned some very simple BASIC programming.

I never got very far with that, but I do remember enjoying getting the computer to ask me what my name was and getting it to create pretty text patterns using the repeat command.

So now I’ve enrolled with the free online Code Academy and have completed the first few sessions. I thoroughly recommend it.

Categories: 2012Wish Tags: ,
  1. January 17, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Now that sounds like a good idea. I do find that a little bit of code knowledge would be useful. I may be coming your way!! 😉

    • January 17, 2012 at 10:04 pm

      Hi Julia Had forgotten that I also taught myself HTML over 12 years ago and created several web sites manually. Also taught basic HTML to Y6s. Such a long time ago…!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

